01283 840120

Henry Lock, Year 11, Hurstpierpoint CollegeThe Woodard Corporation provides an annual prize to each member school – whether owned, academy, associated or affiliated – as a Woodard Board prize.

The prize is awarded against set criteria to match “Faith, Unity and Vision” and is awarded to a pupil who has:

  • made the most significant contribution to the life of the school Chapel or to the promotion of the Christian character, teaching and practice of the school or
  • demonstrated selflessness and self-sacrifice.

Some schools do not award their prize until the Michaelmas or Lent Terms. The 2014 Woodard Board Prize has so far been awarded to the following pupils who all receive a £25 gift voucher:


Abbots Bromley School Melissa Kuman, Upper Sixth
Alderley Edge School for Girls Ashley van Bruygom, Year 13
Ardingly College Michael Tweedie-Smith, Upper Sixth
Ardingly College Prep School Tom Cunningham and Owen Mordecai, both Year 8
The Bishop of Hereford’s Bluecoat School, Hereford James Bennett, Year 11
Bishop of Rochester Academy, Chatham Cassandra Somuah, Year 8
Bishop Stopford School, KetteringThe Bishops’ Blue Coat CofE High School, Chester Alexander Webster, Year 11Evie Adams, Year 7
Bloxham School Saskia Jones, Upper 6th
The Cathedral School, Llandaff Ben Payne, Year 7
Crompton House CofE School, Oldham Michael Aspin, Upper Sixth
Denstone College Emily Lewis, Upper Sixth
Denstone College Preparatory School Poppy Noble and Alex Pratt, both Year 6
Ellesmere College Wade Cao, Upper Sixth
Exeter Cathedral School Charlie Theodosius, Year 7
Hurstpierpoint College Henry Lock, Year 11
Hurstpierpoint College Preparatory School Hannah Hart, Year 8
King’s College, Taunton Daniel Bidgood, Year 6.2
King’s Hall School, Taunton Edward Hunt, Year 8
The King’s CE School, Wolverhampton Prizes announced in January
King’s School, Rochester Olumide Ojagbemi Upper Sixth
Lancing College Prep School at Worthing Daniel Kimber, Year 8
The Littlehampton Academy Emma Collins, Year 7
The Peterborough School Ellie-Rose Fowler, Year 13
Prestfelde School, Shrewsbury Chorley King, Year 8
St Augustine Academy, Maidstone Luke Bundock, Year 9
St James’ School, Grimsby Lyle McNally, Year 11
St Marylebone CE School, Westminster Genevieve Rainbow-Laird, Year 9
St Olave’s Grammar School, Orpington Vithushan Nuges, Form 13F
St Peter’s Academy, Stoke on Trent Katie Dennis, Year 11
S Peter’s Collegiate School, Wolverhampton Gursharan Kambo, Year 13
St Saviour’s & St Olave’s CofE School, Southwark Maria Alpha and Rebecca Obrifor. Both Year 10
St Wilfrid’s CofE Academy, BlackburnSir Robert Woodard Academy, Sompting Molly Baker, Year 13Vanessa-Mae Watson, Year 11
Trinity CofE School, Belvedere Darren Kimuli, Year 13
Trinity Lewisham Joseph Power, Year 11
Woodard Langalanga Secondary School, Gilgil, Kenya Benson Ngugi Mburu
Worksop College Jack Stevenson, Upper Sixth
Worksop College Preparatory School, Retford James Recaldin, Year 8
Wren Academy, North Finchley Sara Maniar, Year 9


Photograph:  Henry Lock, Year 11, Hurstpierpoint College