01283 840120

Thirty two students from seventeen different schools took part in the Finals of Woodard Musician of the Year 2015 at St John’s Smith Square in London on Saturday 9 May. The performances were to a very high standard and much enjoyed by all those present.

After deliberation, the adjudicators, Paul Harris and Nick Parrans-Smith, awarded the Senior Trophy to Nadia Van Der Goes from The Cathedral School, Llandaff, and the Junior Trophy to Abigail Horton from Ardingly Preparatory School. The runners-up in the Senior Section were Tatiana Wilson from Alderley Edge School for Girls and Agnes Chandler from St Marylebone C of E School. The runners up in the Junior Section were Dafydd Chapman from The Cathedral School and Anna Staveley from Queen Mary’s School, Thirsk.

Thanks are due to all students who took part in the competition this year, to their accompanists, their teachers and all who came to support them at what has become an important and prestigious celebration of musical excellence in the family of Woodard Schools.

Canon Brendan Clover, Senior Provost of Woodard Schools, said “I continue to be amazed at the accomplishment of these astonishing musicians, and at the wide variety of musical performance they bring to the event. As a snapshot of the excellence our schools are delivering nothing could be better.’”